Beautful Flutterbys

This is the first time I’ve used something different from cardstock for one of my mixed media creations. I used a Tim Holtz framed panel and really didn’t know where to start. I searched Pinterest for inspiration and could find any detailed instructions. So I resorted to just experimenting, after all, we’re supposed to embrace imperfection, right!  I used a few paints and then just started smearing different colors with my finger, trying to get a grunge effect. I added distress collage crazing but didn’t get the desired effect. Then I used the distress crayons and rubbed in some vintage photo to add to the shading. I think it kind of turned out shabby pretty. 


You can’t tell from the photos how many layers I’ve added. I have difficulty knowing when enough is enough but I think these layers blended well. Needless to say, I had to hold the frame down for a bit as it kept popping off. 

Here are a few close ups. 


Hope you enjoy!

Until next time. 

Joanne

Leave a Reply

